A Room With A View

As I was blog surfing my usual reads the other day, I saw that my favorite blogger, Lauren of Blooming Leopold, had posted about the movie The Bostonians. Being a fan of Merchant Ivory, I left a comment stating how my favorite of the Merchant Ivory films was A Room with a View. Which left me with a thirst to watch it again.

This 1985 movie is a love story, plain and simple. But the cast is perfect, and quite possibly my favorite thing about the movie. Helena Bonham-Carter plays Lucy Honeychurch, a young, beautiful woman. Maggie Smith (before she was Dame), is Charlotte Bartlette, her cousine. Judi Dench (James Bond people!) plays Eleanor Lavish, a freethinking novelist. And Denholm Elliott (INDIANA JONES!!!) plays Mr. Emerson. His son George, who falls in love with Lucy, is Julian Sands.

I urge everyone to watch this Edwardian film. It teaches about passion, following the heart, and honesty. And the clothes are just wonderful.

Also, fun fact, it was filmed mainly because James Ivory wanted to go back to Italy. Great motive!

There are many great quotes too.

“My dear…you have flowers in your hair!”

“A young girl, transfigured by Italy! And why shouldn’t she be transfigured? It happened to the Goths!”

“A tremendous thing has happened to me….to you…”

I must learn how to braid my hair like that!

I also love these little subtitles that pop up sometimes, kind of telling you what is going on.

Oh George…

This girl is a very minor character but her hair is just amazing.

Suspenders, boaters, and stripes ❤

“I daresay you had an adventure there!”

There were no words in this beautiful scene. He just walks right up to her, grabs her, and lays one on. It was perfect.

Would you not like to be there?

Helena Bonham-Carter with her beautiful, messy, crazy hair…

Edwardian tent party.

“I have no profession. My attitude – quite indefensible – is that, if I trouble no one, I may do as I like. It is, I dare say, an example of my decadence. ”

And this is Daniel Day Lewis as Cecil. Cecil is a snob. But I love him because he’s kind of like today’s “hipster”.

“Up until now I have never kissed you,”

“No, you haven’t.”

“May I kiss you now?”

“Of course! You may have before!”

Fail kiss, where you can tell he’s actually kissing her chin =P

Oh George. Oh George, George, George.

“He’s the sort who can’t know anyone intimately, least of all a woman. He doesn’t know what a woman is. He wants you for a possession, something to look at, like a painting or an ivory box. Something to own and to display. He doesn’t want you to be real, and to think and to live. He doesn’t love you. But I love you. I want you to have your own thoughts and ideas and feelings, even when I hold you in my arms. It’s our last chance… ”

And I’m going to leave you with this shot of George. Because it’s his face.

Also, you get to see him naked. Full on. Among with two other guys. And it’s not what it sounds like but there is an all-male nude swimming scene. Wouldn’t it have been funny if I took shots of THAT? It is a funny scene though.

It’s a two hour film. Most of these are from the first half.

This is a long post. It is almost 7 AM, and I have class in an hour. Boo class!

Leave a Reply

